Vegetable CousCous Salad

I know, I know, it’s been a while…too long, but life has gotten busy and it’s getting warm out!!!  Which leads me to this very recipe that I am able to share with all you fine people out there.

This was an attempt at a “pastasalad for an improptu bbq on Saturday, without the heaviness that is sometimes associated with pasta salad.  I was also attempting to prevent myself from eating the leftover pasta salad every meal for the next 2 days(which is what I normally do).

Anyway…I don’t have any pictures today, and the recipe is pretty much as easy as they come…as usual.

What You’ll Need:

2 5.7 ounce boxes of couscous– or whatever the standard size of those little boxes are, any flavor will do, I used one garlic and olive oil and one parmesan cheese, the flavors mixed well.

Feta Cheese- umm I used about half of the plastic container they come in from the store, you can just judge it on your own.

Grape Tomatoes- approx 3/4 of one of the plastic containers from the store, I quartered these

1 cucumber(or less if you don’t like that much) cut up into small pieces, I’d say you can get 6 small pieces from a regular “slice” of cucumber.

Half of a pepper(I used orange, but any will do)- cut up into small pieces, the same size as the tomatoes and cucumber.

salt and pepper

olive oil

fresh lemon

Here’s What You Do:

Prepare the couscous as the directions state, I just mixed both together(doubled the water, etc).  Once it’s done, add all the chopped veggies, feta, add salt and pepper to taste, about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and the juice of one whole lemon.  Mix and serve.

This was pretty delicious and definitely worked well as a lighter pasta dish.  For everyone out there who doesn’t know(I didn’t for a while) couscous is actually a small pasta, it’s not a grain(like rice) like I had originally thought, but it went will with the rest of the standard bbq food, burgers, hot dogs, salad. etc.

Best part about it, you can eat it hot, cold, room temperature, etc.  I have had it each way and it’s equally delicious, and has lasted for a few days, so you can totally make ahead if you know you’re going to a picnic, etc.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetable CousCous Salad

  1. Lana says:

    I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

